According to an April 22, 2015 article at feelguide.com, anxiety affects “…40 million adults in the United States age 18 and older (18% of U.S. population). 

That’s a staggering statistic, to be sure. Put differently, that’s almost one fifth of the U.S. population! For many, anxiety is a constant, for others, it hits over world events, or during the holiday season, for example. Certainly, there are many ways of coping with anxiety – medication and therapy among them, but how about meditation?

For many years, in my mind, the word ‘meditation’, for me, was shrouded in mystery, an esoteric term, a ritual that could only be practiced by the learned few, and the state of peace it brought could be achieved only after years of training.

pier-407252__180But after conversations with friends who practice meditation and some online research, I’m now a ‘newbie’ at meditation, and I’m finding that is not only completely accessible and easy to do, it doesn’t have to take hours. And perhaps my embracing that is me, ‘saging’.

If you’ve experienced anxiety, you know it can be frightening to the point of being debilitating. But I daresay, even if you haven’t experienced anxiety, meditation is a healthy, positive and proactive practice, and habit – I’d call it a gift to your psyche,and your soul. And therein lies my motivation for meditation. Here’s an interesting article explaining ten reasons everyone  should meditate. 

You can read the article by Sarah Petruno, a contemporary shamana and academic scientist, in its entirety here

She says all you need is five minutes. I’ve got five minutes. She describes the process of lying down on the edge of a bed and inhaling deeply and slowly, and exhaling the same way. She also recommends repeating this process twice a day, once in the morning and once at night.

I’ve also read, and heard about repeating a phrase, so as to center yourself, and also about gently pushing away any thoughts that come to mind, and allowing yourself to focus on your breath.

As a newbie, I’m giving myself time and permission to learn more about meditation and how to achieve a meditative state, and I imagine maybe a combination of these things, or maybe even just one, will speak to me, and become ‘mine.’ 

Of course, I also imagine that meditation is as personal, and unique as the thousands of people who practice it, and that they have their own ways of finding that quiet, and peace.

Please share – do you meditate? How, and how often? What tips can you share that you’ve learned along the way?

Rebecca E. Neely pens stories of romance and suspense. Libby Klink, the heroine in The Keeper, Book 1 in the Crossing Realms series, has her own issues with anxiety, and a whole lot more – and she’s nowhere near ready to meditate… Get it now on Amazon!

