Over the last decade, I’ve developed a deep, soulful connection with silver, versus gold. silver-pablo-10As a younger woman, I think I identified with gold, and as life’s experiences shaped me, I think I grew into more of a ‘silver’ personality. Translation? Inherently, I identify silver with uniqueness and strength, found myself drawn to it for these reasons, and indeed, my research into this precious metal validated my beliefs.

Ancient cultures began mining silver over 5,000 years ago. Perhaps the single most significant event in the history of silver was the discovery of the New World in 1492. Since then, the role of silver has exploded the world over. Widely used as currency in biblical times, its current uses and applications include utensils, chemistry, photography, medicine, water purification, air conditioning, dentistry, and jewelry.

Amazingly versatile, too, I enjoy the mystical and symbolic connection that exists with silver. Per information at wikia.com, it is associated with feminine energy, along with the goddess Artemis, the virgin goddess of the Hunt and the moon. Symbolizing feminine intuition and inner knowledge, it’s also associated with spirituality. And because its energy flows with the tides, and thus water, it’s associated with both adaptability and cleansing.

rings-img_4039Indeed. I keep silver close to me most days, in the form of various silver spoon rings, which began as an accidental, and then a not so accidental, collection. Not only is each unique, whimsical and beautiful, showcasing craftsmanship and longevity, they tell a story, and hold fond memories of who I was with, where we were, and the fun we had, usually at annual craft festivals.

As a writer, and a storyteller, certainly, that part of it appeals to me. Too, as a writer, I strive to add depth to my characters. And indeed, what type of jewelry they wear—or don’t wear—is one way to deepen that connection, for myself, and for the reader. It’s something very personal for me, and I imagine, for my characters.

cutlery-686123__180As well, the history of the spoon ring swept me, a writer of romance, away. According to information at justspoonin.com, “Spoon rings date back as far as the 1600s in England and were originally thought to represent love, responsibility and commitment.  As the story goes, servants who had fallen in love and wanted to propose marriage would steal silver spoons from their masters’ homes and have them crafted into rings. They were too poor to afford any sort of “real” engagement ring, so this was their best alternative to offering a beautiful and valuable ring to the woman they wanted to make their wife.”

As many of the spoons were engraved with the family’s crest, identifying thieves wasn’t too difficult, and lots of arrests were made from the 17th to the 19th century. Sigh. What romantic, grand gestures!

Enduring and exquisite, silver, from a chemist’s perspective, is “a noble metal, strong yet malleable, able to withstand heat and time and weather, and still be shaped into something magnificent.” And, from this woman’s perspective, seems an accurate and lovely metaphor for females of all ages and circumstances.

Rebecca E. Neely is an author of romance, the paranormal and suspenseful kind. 🙂 Visit www.rebeccaneely.com

Join my mailing list & monthly, be entered to win a FREE e-book ! You’ll also receive deleted scenes & other cool stuff 🙂

