It’s my pleasure to welcome time travel romance author Donna Steele today. She’s sharing more about her new book, ANOTHER TIME, and why she enjoys research so much.

What inspired you to write a time travel romance, and what is it about research you enjoy?

I’ve always enjoyed time travel stories and shows. Of course, the admonition not to change the timeline causes the rebel in me to rear up. What if it could be positive? That’s what I wanted to explore in this book (as well as get these two characters, who demanded I write them, together). The research was much more extensive than usual for me, but hey, we time travel readers are rabid about accuracy.

One such instance i remember well is the research I did on zippers. And I got caught up (no pun intended). Just for jollies – Elias Howe who invented the sewing machine came up with the original zipper and got a patent in 1851, then forgot about it because the sewing machine was such a hit. Wait 44 years! Until 1895 for the “clasp locker” which still didn’t really go anywhere and from the description was a little too complicated. But finally in 1913 Gideon Sundbach got creative and made something we’d recognize today. He was married to the boss’s daughter at Universal Fasteners and when she died he needed something to do. See how far away I got from my story? And I still remember it? And aren’t you glad I didn’t share the ooey-gooey stuff from my medical research?

Thanks for visiting me today! I’m happy to take questions if you have any.

ANOTHER TIME – Book 1 in the Guardians of Now Series, available now on Amazon

When Dusty Williams goes into a strange bar to contemplate the ruination of his career, the last thing he expects to find is a compelling woman. He’s not even in the mood to get laid. He just wants to escape from all humanity.

Dee Stevens can’t believe she’s in a bar at all. She’s just lost two patients due to drunk driving. Whatever could have drawn her into a strange bar tonight of all times?

When the two meet, and they feel that odd vibration that seems to pull them together, they have no idea what’s ahead, or behind, them and what it can mean for mankind.

ANOTHER TIME Excerpt

“I believe we need to talk.” Dee aimed the statement at Dusty, which sobered him up quickly. He followed her to the doctor’s office and watched as she closed the door firmly behind them and threw the bolt.

“Am I safe in here with you?”

“What the hell is going on?” Dee was in no mood for any levity now. “Where are we? And how do we get home?”

“I believe the question is when are we.” Dusty held up a hand to forestall her. “I know. The whole thing is impossible. I’m the one who studies number theory. Everything I’ve ever been taught says there can be no time travel. I agree. Dee, this is no dream. Everything is too tactile. I smelled Daphne’s blood, I felt Joseph’s shoulder under my hand, and I ate a ham sandwich. As for the second question, I don’t have a clue.”

He sank into the wooden swivel chair at the desk and looked up at her. “I’m willing to listen to theories.”

She leaned back against the counter and appeared to study the floor. “I don’t have one. We crashed into something, the car proves that, but there was nothing to hit. Dusty, I did not drive us head on into something I could see.”

“I believe you.”

She took a deep breath. “Why did you tell them we were married?”

CONNECT WITH DONNA

Website and blog  – http://www.steelestories.com

Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/DonnaSteeleAuthor/

Twitterhttps://twitter.com/steele_donna

Goodreadshttps://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5779056.Donna_Steele

Amazonhttp://www.amazon.com/Donna-Steele/e/B007G8V5C6/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1464964493&sr=8-1

Instagramhttps://www.instagram.com/steelestories/

 

